frameworks

When someone asked me if I would review a book for them, I thought, “Why not?”  Little did I know that Frameworks would be such an interesting, quick-paced study.  Frameworks is one of the best resources that I’ve found to date. 

As someone who doesn’t always have a large chunk of time to devote to reading, I appreciate that Eric Larson wrote each chapter in a short, quick-reading, information-packed and straightforward style.  Also, the consistent way that he arranges each chapter helps to make Frameworks a great resource for comparing books of the New Testament (gospel vs. gospel, epistle vs. epistle, etc.).  In my capacity as one of several lay-leaders in my church, I could see Frameworks as a source around which to build a Bible Study or a preaching series, and as an extremely valuable tool to build my own head-knowledge of the New Testament.

My favorite part of this book is the everyday language that Eric Larson uses to provide context and history to each of the books of the New Testament.  As a person who has read a majority of the New Testament, it is very helpful to me to learn more of the history behind these books, as well as background about their authors.  In fact, they make me want to go back and read them again now that I have this information in my back pocket!

This book is a handy guide, an outstanding roadmap, and a barrel of possibilities. Eric’s joy in sharing what the New Testament has to offer, combined with his no-nonsense style make this a pleasure to read (and re-read!).

I very highly recommend this book!

~ by pe2nia1 on September 17, 2012.

5 Responses to “frameworks”

  1. […] And Wendy Swantek, a chill mother of two young boys and lay leader at her local church, had this to day, “This book is a handy guide, an outstanding roadmap, and a barrel of possibilities. Eric?s joy in sharing what the New Testament has to offer, combined with his no-nonsense style make this a pleasure to read (and re-read!).” The full review is here. […]

  2. Hey Wendy. From one former Ohioan to another. Loved your review. So glad you’re resonating with frameworks. I am too.

  3. Eric, thanks for stopping by! I’m looking forward to any upcoming Frameworks-like studies for the Old Testament.

  4. http://barkma.blogspot.com/2012/09/frameworks-how-to-navigate-new.html
    My post on this, if interested.

  5. […] Snapshots – Wendy Swantek […]

Comments are closed.

 
